Greenhouse Development Rights

GDRs at the G24

Posted in GDRs per se by Jörg Haas on April 3, 2008

Sivan Kartha has presented the GDRs Framework at XXVI G24 Technical Group Meeting at the IMF Headquarters in Washington. You find his presentation here.

The G24 is The Intergovernmental Group of Twenty-Four on International Monetary Affairs and Development (G-24). It was established in 1971. Its main objective is to concert the position of developing countries on monetary and development finance issues.

It consists of the following countries from each of the three regions: (1) Africa (2) Latin America and the Caribbean, and (3) Asia

Member countries are as follows:

* Region I (Africa): Algeria, Côte d’Ivoire, Egypt, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa and the Democratic Republic of Congo.

* Region II (Latin America and the Caribbean): Argentina, Brazil, Colombia, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela.

* Region III (Asia and developing countries of Europe): India, Iran, Lebanon, Pakistan, Philippines, Sri Lanka and Syrian Arab Republic.

The GDRs presentation was received with great interest. Some follow-up activities were envisaged. We will report later on these pages.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: